List of Core Participants issued

10 March 2021

Where an individual, group or organisation has a significant interest in the Inquiry, the Chair may designate them as a core participant. The process and criteria for core participant designation are set out in the core participant protocol. Examples of how a core participant may take part in the proceedings are also contained in that protocol.

The following have been designated core participants in this Inquiry:


The family of Sheku Bayoh

Sheku Bayoh's two sons

Connie Barcik

Collette Bell

Aminata Bayoh

Kosna Bayoh

Adama Jalloh

Adeyemi Johnson

Kadijartu Johnson


Officers and retired officers of the Police Service of Scotland

Temporary Assistant Chief Constable Patrick Campbell

PC Daniel Gibson

PC Kayleigh Good

Sgt Scott Maxwell

PC James McDonough

Chief Superintendent Garry McEwan

Retired PC Alan Paton

Retired PC Nicole Short

PC Alan Smith 

PC Ashley Tomlinson

Chief Superintendent Conrad Trickett

PC Craig Walker


Bodies and institutions

The Chief Constable of the Police Service of Scotland

The Lord Advocate

The Police Investigations and Review Commissioner

The Scottish Police Federation